Common Bond

The common bond is the factor which unites the members of a Credit Union together i.e. those living or working in the same area may join a credit union. It defines the area in which a credit union can operate. The common bond ensures that the savings of members of the community are available to fellow members as loans. The common bond is essentially people doing it for themselves.

It demonstrates effectively how a credit union is a credit co-operative with members working together to achieve a better life for themselves.

To be eligible for membership you must be living or working within our common bond area; Na Forbacha, An Spidéal, Indreabhán, Ros a Mhíl, Camus, An Cheathrú Rua, Ceantar na nOileán.

Anyone living, working, attending school, college in the common bond area is eligible to become a Member.

If a member of your household already holds an account in our Credit Union, this also makes you eligible to become a Member